RNs are required to complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education (CE) during each renewal period, including 2 hours relating to the prevention of medical errors. In addition to these 24 hours of general CE, each RN must complete 2 hours of domestic violence CE every third renewal for a total of 26 hours.
New Requirements: Beginning with the biennium ending in 2015, each licensee shall complete a 2-hour course on the laws and rules that govern the practice of nursing in Florida. This will be part of the total of 24 hours that are required each biennium.
Beginning with the biennium on or after January 2, 2019 licensees must complete a 2-hour course on human trafficking, and each biennium thereafter. FAC 64B9-5.002.
There is a new 2-hour CE course requirement for "Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace" that becomes effective August 1, 2017, then every other biennium thereafter. Registered Nursing Group 1 will be the first group required to have the new CE for the renewal period ending April 30, 2018.
Florida Board of Nursing Rule Change Effective 8/1/2014, courses cannot be offered in tenth-hour increments over one hour (example: 1.6 contact hours). Course contact hours will be rounded down to the nearest half-hour (example 1.6 contact hours becomes 1.5 contact hours). For initial licensure, both RNs and LPNs must complete:
- 2 hours of medical errors
- 2 hours in Florida laws and rules
- 2 hours of recognizing impairment in the workplace
- 1 hour of HIV/AIDS