You are here:-, Nursing News-National Nursing League names latest Centers of Excellence

National Nursing League names latest Centers of Excellence

The National League for Nursing has named 12 nursing schools from across the country as Centers of Excellence, citing their ability to create environments that enhance student learning and professional development, and promote faculty expertise.

“Their visionary leadership and dedication to creating environments of inclusive excellence nurture the creation of a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the health of the nation and the global community,” Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, CEO of the National League for Nursing, an organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education, said in a news release.

Recognized under the category of Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development, are the following 11 schools:

  • Duquesne University in Pittsburgh
  • East Carolina University, Greenville, N.C.
  • Regis College in Denver
  • Trinitas School of Nursing, St. Elizabeth, N.J.
  • Collin College, McKinney, Texas
  • Duke University, Durham, N.C.
  • The College of New Jersey in Ewing Township
  • Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia
  • Union County College, Cranford, N.J.
  • University of Texas at Arlington
  • Western Governors University, Austin, Texas

Union County College, a community college which offers only a practical nursing program, was the first school of its kind to earn the designation, Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development, according to the release.

The 12th school, Louisiana State University in New Orleans, became a center of excellence under the category Creating Environments that Promote Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty. Duke University now is a center of excellence in both categories.

Since 2004, the NLN has designated schools as centers of excellence based on their ability to show “sustained excellence in faculty development, nursing education research, or student learning and professional development,” according to the release. Schools must also demonstrate a commitment to quality improvement, according to the league. The chosen schools will be formally recognized at the league’s annual education summit in October.


By | 2021-05-07T08:45:46-04:00 September 10th, 2015|Categories: Nursing Education, Nursing News|0 Comments

About the Author:

Special Topics Editor Deborah Filipek develops and edits content for OnCourse Learning’s blog, which covers news, trends and features relevant to nurses. She has more than 25 years of writing and editing experience, having previously worked for weekly newspapers and ad agencies in the Chicagoland area.

Leave A Comment