You are here:--UMSON professor receives Circle of Excellence Award from AACN

UMSON professor receives Circle of Excellence Award from AACN

Kathryn T. Von Rueden, MS, RN, CNS-BC, FCCM, associate professor at University of Maryland School of Nursing in Baltimore and clinical nurse specialist at the University of Maryland Medical Center’s R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, was one of 25 nursing professionals recently honored with the 2015 American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Circle of Excellence Award. AACN recognized the award winners at its National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition, held May 18-21, in San Diego.


Kathryn Von Rueden, RN

The award is given annually to outstanding nurses nationwide for achieving excellent outcomes in the care of acutely and critically ill patients and their families.

Circle of Excellence recipients have demonstrated a relentless promotion of patient-driven excellence; communication skills; true collaboration; effective decision making; and meaningful recognition of others, according to a news release.

“Kathryn Von Rueden is a highly respected critical-care nurse who has demonstrated the ability to transform thinking, structures, and processes in addressing challenges within her field,” UMSON Dean Jane M. Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAAN, said in the release. “We are so proud to see her receive this national recognition, which is an acknowledgment of her sustained leadership and excellence in this important area of nursing practice.”

Established in 1969, AACN joins together the interests of more than 500,000 acute and critical-care nurses and includes more than 240 chapters worldwide. The Circle of Excellence Award aligns with the association’s mission of creating a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical-care nurses play a vital role.

“My passion has always been in motivating, challenging and mentoring others to excel professionally and at the bedside,” Von Rueden said in the release. “I am very honored to have received this award and to be a part of a community of nursing professionals who are dedicated to shaping best practices and influencing the quality of care for critically ill patients.”

By | 2021-05-03T14:49:03-04:00 July 8th, 2015|Categories: Nursing News|0 Comments

About the Author:

John Roszkowski is a freelance writer.

Leave A Comment