You are here:----RWJUH hands out awards at 2 campuses during National Nurses Week

RWJUH hands out awards at 2 campuses during National Nurses Week

Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital celebrated National Nurses Week with its annual Nursing Excellence Awards ceremonies at the New Brunswick and Somerville campuses.

“Our nursing teams at RWJ New Brunswick and RWJ Somerset have a reputation for excellence earned on a foundation of exceptional bedside care, innovative research, sharing best practices and an unwavering commitment to quality,” Stephen K. Jones, FACHE, president and CEO of Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital and Robert Wood Johnson Health System, said in a news release. “Our nurses’ compassion and commitment to caring extend beyond the walls of our New Brunswick and Somerville campuses. Whether it is volunteering to serve at our many screenings and health education events in the community, or leading medical missions abroad to bring essential healthcare services to those in need, our nurses are an inspiration to us all.”

Ceremonies May 4 in New Brunswick and May 6 in Somerville were held to recognize nursing excellence and demonstrate gratitude to nurses for their efforts to improve the lives of the hospital’s patients, their families and the community, according to the release.

Ka Ying Lee, BSN, RN, OCN, RN-BC, WCC, from the New Brunswick campus, was named the 2015 Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Magnet Nurse of the Year.

The Somerville campus recognized Lynn Freeland, MSN, RNC of maternity services with its top nursing honor, the Jean Dougherty Award, named for a late nurse supervisor who worked at the medical center for more than 30 years.

Other nurses honored with awards at the New Brunswick campus were Teresa Damito, BSN, RN, RNC-OB, CNIV (); Susann Krane, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC (); Myrna Young, MSN, RN, CNOR (); Victoria Pangilinan, MSN, RN, CCRN (); and Mary Racel Villarica, BSN, RN-BC ().

In addition, the New Brunswick campus recognized nurse residency graduates Tamara Alexander, BSN, RN; Kristin Andrews, BSN, RN; Diana Faye Blaza, BSN, RN; Annmarie Crowley, BSN, RN; Jeanette Galindo-Lopez, BSN, RN; Juliet Lee, BSN, RN; William Navarro, BSN, RN; Elizabeth Palamara, BSN, RN; Darshi Patel, BSN, RN; Kirsten Prins, BSN, RN; Naomi Rindenau, BSN, RN; Amanda Sawasky, BSN, RN; Lindsey Setaro, BSN, RN; Charles Smith, BSN, RN; and Emily Vogt, BSN, RN.

Award winners at the Somerville campus were Agnes Salamon, MSN, RN, ONC (); Barbara Muldowney, RN (); Marta Kordal, RN, CMSRN (); Stacey Alphas, BSN, RN (); Valerie Moore, BSN, RN (); and Denise Gerhab, BSN, RN, WCC, OMS ().

Additional New Brunswick honors went to Brian Dobosh, info systems (Friend of Nursing Award); Junerose Gambito (CCT/PCT Award); and the brain aneurysm support group (Structural Empowerment Award). At Somerville, Alex Perez (CCT of the Year) was recognized.

By | 2015-06-30T15:07:11-04:00 June 30th, 2015|Categories: New York/New Jersey Metro|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment