You are here:--Texas RNs earn excellence award

Texas RNs earn excellence award

Shelley Welch, RN

Glenn Dennis, RN

Two nurses from Texas are among 25 nationwide who have been selected to receive the 2015 Circle of Excellence Award from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. The awards will be given at the National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition, May 18-21 in San Diego.

Award winners are selected for achieving excellent outcomes in the care of acutely and critically ill patients and their families, according to a news release. Honorees receive a plaque and a $1,000 honorarium and become members of the Circle of Excellence Society.

Texas’ Circle of Excellence honorees are Glenn I. Dennis, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, director of critical care services, Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital; and Shelley K. Welch, MSN, RN, CCRN-CSC, staff development educator, Trinity Mother Frances Hospitals and Clinics, Tyler.

According to the release, criteria used to evaluate Circle of Excellence award candidates include relentless promotion of patient-driven excellence; communication skills; true collaboration; effective decision making; meaningful recognition of others; ability to transform thinking, structures and processes; and ability to address challenges and remove barriers to excellent patient care and achieve visible results through leadership.

AACN’s Circle of Excellence awards align with the association’s mission of creating a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution, according to the release.


By | 2021-05-07T08:11:06-04:00 March 24th, 2015|Categories: Nursing Awards|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment