You are here:----Texas Nurses Foundation recognizes outstanding nurses

Texas Nurses Foundation recognizes outstanding nurses

Patricia L. Starck, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean UTHealth School of Nursing, received the Texas Nurses Foundation District 9 President’s Award at its annual celebration at the Hilton Houston Westchase. The foundation recognized also 20 outstanding nurses nominated by their peers and co-workers as exemplary RNs in the Houston area, according to a news release.

Since being named the TNF President’s Award winner, Starck has retired from her position of UTHealth School of Nursing dean. She will continue to serve as UTHealth’s senior vice president for Interprofessional Education.

Starck has published 47 articles, seven textbook chapters and a book on the meaning in suffering test, used worldwide, according to the release. She has raised millions of dollars to support nursing, from funds for the construction of a $58-million building in 2004 to the creation of scholarships, endowed professorships and endowed chairs.

20 Outstanding Nurses of 2014

According to the release, the 20 outstanding nurses of 2014 are E. Tina Cuellar, PhD, RN, P/MHCNS-BC, director of curriculum, Elsevier, a publishing firm in Friendswood, Texas; Ifeoma Ezeobele, PhD, MSN, MSHEd, P/MH CNS-BC, APRN, UTHealth Harris County Psychiatric Center; Sheila Fata, MBA, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, CNO and vice president of operations, Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital; Nina Fredland, PhD, RN, FNP, associate professor, Texas Woman’s University; Desirae Freeze, MSN, RN, SimCare manager, Chamberlain College of Nursing; Elizabeth Gigliotti, MS, RN, NP-C, ACNP-BC, ICU NP manager, Houston Methodist West Hospital; Betty Gonzales, DNP, RN, ACNP-BC, CCRN, director of nurse practitioner service, Houston Methodist Sugar Land Hospital; Mary Gordon, PhD, RN, CNS-BC, clinical nurse specialist for renal services, Texas Children’s Hospital; Pamela Hodges, PhD, MSN, RN, faculty member, University of St. Thomas School of Nursing; Valerie Howell, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, administrative director of nursing, Ben Taub General Hospital, Harris Health System; Lori Hull-Grommesh, DNP, ACNP-BC, CCRN, NEA-BC, director of advanced practice registered nurses, Memorial Hermann Health System; Duck-Hee Kang, PhD, RN, FAAN, director of the bioscience laboratory in the school of nursing, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston; Brian Kern, MBA, BSN, RN, director of patient care for the medical-cardiac intermediate, clinical decision units, the hemodialysis suite, and outpatient wound care center, Memorial Hermann Southwest; Victoria King, MHA, MSN, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC, CNO, Memorial Hermann Hospital Texas Medical Center; Mary Kurian, MHA, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, CCRN, CNRN, administrative director, Ben Taub General Hospital, Harris Health System; Stacey Mitchell, DNP, MBA, RN, manager of forensic nursing services and risk management and patient safety departments, Harris Health System; Karen Myers, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, vice president and CNO, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center; Sohrab Alex Sardual, MBA, RN, CNN, CVRN, nurse manager, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center; Amy Sebastian-Deutsch, DNP, RN, CNS, AOCNS, oncology nurse at Memorial Hermann Health System; and Mary Lynne Weemering, MSN, RN, CNOR, faculty member, Lone Star Montgomery College.

Marie Hazel Loyola, LVN, Lone Star College-Kingwood, received the Donna Wooten nursing education scholarship. Other scholarship recipients included Lillian Moran, Ruby Romero and Andrea Uzcatgegui of the University of St. Thomas and Brooke Thawley, UTHealth School of Nursing. Heidi Gilry, MSN, RN, APHN-BC, Texas Woman’s University received a research grant.

Proceeds from the annual celebration, which included a silent auction, benefit the Texas Nurses District 9 Foundation. The mistress of ceremonies was Cindy Zolnierek, PhD, RN, executive director of the Texas Nurses Association.

By | 2015-03-02T00:00:00-05:00 March 2nd, 2015|Categories: Regional, South|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment