You are here:-UTHealth School of Nursing Dean receives President’s Award

UTHealth School of Nursing Dean receives President’s Award

Patricia L. Starck, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean and John P. McGovern Distinguished Professor, the University of Texas Health School of Nursing in Houston, received the President’s Award from the Texas Nurses Association District 9 Foundation Nov. 13 at the 24th annual Nursing Celebration at the Hilton Houston Westchase, according to a news release. The annual award honors a leading advocate for nurses and the nursing profession.

Starck has more than 45 years devoted to nursing education, according to the school’s website.

She also serves as UTHealth’s senior vice president for Interprofessional Education. From June 2011 to May 2013, Starck served as UTHealth’s senior vice president for community affairs, where she led the office of advancement to expand public awareness of UTHealth and cultivate philanthropic support.

Starck, a highly requested speaker on topics as varied as the future of nursing and nursing education to dealing with human suffering, has published 47 articles, seven textbook chapters and “MIST,” the Meaning in Suffering Test, which is in used worldwide, according to the school’s website.

Starck received her doctorate from the University of Alabama in Birmingham in 1979, and she recently was named one of the school’s 60 Distinguished Alumni. Her MSN was awarded by Emory University in Atlanta. She is a 1997 graduate of the Institute for Educational Management at Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

By | 2014-12-05T00:00:00-05:00 December 5th, 2014|Categories: Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment