You are here:----NYU nursing faculty member joins 2014 class of Nurse Faculty Scholars

NYU nursing faculty member joins 2014 class of Nurse Faculty Scholars

NYU College of Nursing Assistant Professor Abraham A. Brody, PhD, RN, has been selected as one of 12 nursing faculty members from across the country as part of the Robert Wood Johnson University Nurse Faculty Scholars program.

“I am incredibly honored to be included,” Brody told “The other 11 scholars, and those who made it to the semifinal stage of the selection process, are all incredibly talented, intelligent and thoughtful future nurse leaders. I am very excited and humbled that the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has seen fit to invest in me as an academic nursing leader.”

The Nurse Faculty Scholar award is given to junior nurse faculty who show promise as future leaders in academic nursing, according to an RWJF news release.

Scholars each receive a three-year, $350,000 award to pursue research, leadership training in all aspects of the faculty role and mentoring from senior faculty at their institutions.

Brody’s research project explores how to improve the care and health of older adults with dementia and their family caregivers through an interprofessional evidence-based practice intervention delivered by home healthcare teams.

“I intend to perform a research project examining how an intervention I developed, the Dementia Symptom Management at Home Program, helps to improve the quality of care for homebound elders with dementia receiving skilled, interprofessional home healthcare services,” said Brody, who also serves as associate director, Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, NYU.

Tara Cortes, PhD, RN, FAAN, executive director of the Hartford Institute and James Galvin, MD, director of the Pearl Barlow Center for Memory Evaluation and Treatment at NYU Langone Medical Center and School of Medicine, will serve as Brody’s mentors.

“Over the course of the next three years, I will work with my local mentors, along with Dr. Lazelle Benefield, the dean at the Oklahoma University School of Nursing, who will serve as my RWJF-appointed national mentor, to further my leadership skills through training and hands-on experience,” Brody said.

The Nurse Faculty Scholars program, according to the release, strengthens the academic productivity and overall excellence of nursing schools by developing the next generation of leaders in academic nursing. Supporting junior nurse faculty will help curb a shortage of nurse educators that could undermine the health and healthcare of all Americans, according to the release.

To receive the award, scholars must be RNs who have completed a research doctorate in nursing or a related discipline and who have held a tenure-eligible faculty position at an accredited nursing school for at least two years and no more than five years.

Freelance writer Joe Stevenson contributed to this report.

By | 2014-11-24T00:00:00-05:00 November 24th, 2014|Categories: New York/New Jersey Metro, Regional|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment