You are here:--Lindenhurst nurse receives DAISY Award from CTCA

Lindenhurst nurse receives DAISY Award from CTCA

Cancer Treatment Centers of America at Midwestern Regional Medical Center in Zion has honored Jessica Partyka, RN, ICU, with The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses in recognition for her commitment and patient-centered approach to care, according to a news release.

Partyka of Lindenhurst was honored Sept. 15 in front of patients, peers and leadership. As an ICU nurse, Partyka dedicates herself to her patients, ensuring they’re comfortable, well cared for and confident in their treatment plan, according to the release. Partyka joined CTCA at Midwestern in 2011 and is a graduate of the Harry S. Truman nursing program at the City Colleges of Chicago.

“I was completely surprised and honored to receive this award,” Partyka said in the release. “I do my job every day because it’s what I love to do; I don’t look for any recognition. I am grateful for my fellow nursing team members; our trust in one another and teamwork translates into exceptional care for our patients. I am proud to care for our patients, each has touched my life in a special way.”

Each quarter, a CTCA Midwestern nurse is selected to receive the DAISY Award by a committee, comprised of the hospital’s nursing leadership and peers. At a presentation attended by the nurse’s colleagues, physicians, patients and visitors, the honoree receives a certificate for being an extraordinary nurse and a sculpture called A Healer’s Touch, hand-carved by artists of the Shona Tribe in Africa, according to the release.

“Nurses are heroes every day and it’s important to let our nurses know their work is meaningful,” Jacklynn Lesniak, MS, BSN, RN, senior vice president of patient care services and CNO, said in the release. “The DAISY Foundation provides a way for us to honor them for their commitment to patient-empowered care.”


CE Subscriptions Built for Your Convenience!

750+ ANCC-accredited courses. 2 subscription options. CE that
meets your needs.

By | 2021-05-29T22:01:16-04:00 November 5th, 2014|Categories: Nursing Awards|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment