You are here:----UOPX College of Health Sciences and Nursing names new academic dean

UOPX College of Health Sciences and Nursing names new academic dean

Angie Strawn, RN

Michael Graham, DNP, RN, PhD, PMHNP-BC, has been named academic dean for the College of Health Sciences and Nursing at the University of Phoenix. The College of Health Sciences and Nursing is headquartered in Tempe, Ariz.

Graham joins the associate dean for the division of nursing, Angie Strawn, MSN, RN, who has been with UOPX since 1994, in championing programs that develop the nurse leader of the future.

“The Division of Nursing will expand its leadership role in providing access to high-quality educational and career advancement programs for current and future RNs,” Graham told about his
leadership vision.

Strawn told, “The Division of Nursing focuses on the key recommendations of the IOM report 2010, The Future of Nursing, to create innovative programs such as our concurrent enrollment program, so that nurses earn a BSN or achieve an education that prepares them for the APRN role. It is an exciting time in nursing higher education and healthcare delivery.”

Graham previously was a professor of nursing, teaching in the MSN and DNP programs, at American Sentinel University in Aurora, Colo. He received his DNP from Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, N.C., in 2014 and a post-master’s NP certificate in adult psychiatric mental health nursing from Rush University, Chicago. His PhD in social work is from the Ohio State University in Columbus. He received his MN from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

Strawn is completing a doctor of education in educational leadership with a specialization in curriculum and instruction through UOPX. She holds an MSN from University of California, San Francisco and a BSN from Michigan State University in East Lansing. She began with UOPX as a faculty member at the Sacramento Valley (Calif.) campus and moved to the dean’s office in 2006.

Both Graham and Strawn are members of Sigma Theta Tau International. Strawn completed a two-year term as president of the Omicron Delta chapter July 1. She has been a member of ACNL since 1997. Graham belongs to the ANA, APNA, AANP and Minnesota Nurse Practitioners.

By | 2020-04-15T09:24:14-04:00 September 15th, 2014|Categories: Regional, West|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment