You are here:-Columbia nursing faculty members to become AAN Fellows

Columbia nursing faculty members to become AAN Fellows

Columbia University School of Nursing, Manhattan, has announced that associate professor Jacqueline Merrill, RN, PhD, MPH, and assistant professors Jennifer Dohrn, RN, CNM, DNP, and Lusine Poghosyan, RN, PhD, MPH, have been selected as American Academy of Nursing Fellows.

The three Columbia nursing faculty will be among 168 nurse leaders inducted Oct. 18 at AAN’s 2014 Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference in Washington, D.C. Fellows hold a variety of influential positions in the nursing profession and their ranks include university presidents, chancellors, and deans; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; and researchers and entrepreneurs, according to a Columbia news release.

Merrill, director of the laboratory for informatics, complexity and organizational study, holds an interdisciplinary appointment in biomedical informatics at Columbia University Medical Center. She is a public health nurse and health services researcher. Merrill is associate clinical director of the Center for Advanced Information Management, a program sponsored by the Empire State Development Corporation to foster collaboration between academia and business.

Dohrn, director of the office of global initiatives, focuses her research and clinical practice on nurse midwifery and improving the quality of patient care in sub-Saharan Africa. She oversees collaboration with Columbia Global Centers and leads the Columbia Nursing WHO Collaborative Health Center for Advanced Practice Nursing. She previously served as program director for the nurse midwifery program.

Poghosyan specializes in health policy and workforce issues, and her research investigates primary care nurse practitioner practice environments and how they affect the quality of care for patients with chronic diseases. In 2013, she was selected as a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholar.

By | 2014-08-14T00:00:00-04:00 August 14th, 2014|Categories: Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment