You are here:----Rollins School of Nursing celebrates Class of 2014

Rollins School of Nursing celebrates Class of 2014

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare in Lewes, Del., recently celebrated the Class of 2014 graduation with 24 graduates at Epworth United Methodist Church in Rehoboth Beach, Del.

Connie Bushey, RN, MEd, MSN, recently retired director of the School of Nursing, was the commencement speaker. Dawn Crouch, president of the Class of 2015, congratulated the graduates, and Danielle LeGates, president of the Class of 2014, shared class reflections and a video with her classmates.

William S. Lee, chairman of the board of Beebe Healthcare, presented the Board of Directors Award for the highest academic achievement to Jill Petrone. The Beebe Healthcare medical staff sponsored the salutatorian award for the second-highest academic achievement, which was presented to Thomasina Roe. The Alumni Award, given for medical-surgical clinical excellence in district nursing, was presented to Alexa Colegrove. The Patient Care Director’s Leadership Award was presented to Danielle LeGates.

The Beebe Healthcare Auxiliary presented its award honoring the graduate who excelled academically, clinically and in community involvement to Candace Conaway. Leah Smith received the Maternal Child Award, given to the graduate demonstrating an interest in maternal-child nursing. Katrina Sellers received the Dr. David Howard Memorial Award. The Bayside Health Association Award honoring the memory of Alison Trout was presented to Megan Shockley. Shauntey Singletary was honored with the Faculty Award, recognizing the attributes of diploma education.

Cancer in Common of Rehoboth honored Sarah Lowe with its award recognizing the graduate with an interest in cancer. Jenna Wilgus was the recipient of the Delaware Hospice Award honoring an exemplary graduate exhibiting a compassionate philosophy in all aspects of care. LeGates, Petrone, Jessie Simpson and Ashley Willey were honored for their perfect attendance.

Joan G. Thomas, RN, MSN, FACHE, interim director of the School of Nursing, along with Class Advisors Joy Bartell, RN, MSN, CNE, and Nicole Hall, RN, MSN, MBA, presented the graduates with their school pins. Jeffrey M. Fried, FACHE, president and CEO of Beebe Healthcare, presented the diplomas.

Members of the Class of 2014 are: Jennifer Byler, Colegrove, Conaway, Debra Demopoulos, Alyssa Edwards, Jillian Gamble, Samantha Halla, LeGates, Lowe, Meryha Michels, Whitney Mott-Lynn, Petrone, Tatiana Richardson, Roe, Brandi Romano, Sellers, Amber Shetzler, Shockley, Simpson, Singletary, Leah Smith, Chelsey Webb, Wilgus, and Willey.

A reception and fellowship was shared following the graduation in the Epworth Church Fellowship Hall.

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare is the only hospital-based nursing program in Delaware, and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing. The diploma in professional nursing is awarded at the completion of the curriculum, qualifying graduates to be eligible for National Council of State Boards of Nursing NCLEX examination, according to the release.

By | 2014-08-06T00:00:00-04:00 August 6th, 2014|Categories: Philadelphia/Tri-State, Regional|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment