You are here:----Sigma Theta Tau honors 3 UCLA nursing professors for their research

Sigma Theta Tau honors 3 UCLA nursing professors for their research

UCLA School of Nursing professors Deborah Koniak-Griffin, RNC, EdD, FAAN, Adey Nyamathi, RN, ANP, PhD, FAAN, and Linda Sarna, RN, PhD, AOCN, FAAN, will be inducted into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame at Sigma Theta Tau International’s 25th International Nursing Research Congress in Hong Kong, July 26, according to a news release.

Created in 2010, the honor recognizes nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves.

Koniak-Griffin has completed successful research on combatting health disparities among young parents from ethnic and racial minority groups. Three of her interventional programs were selected by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as evidence-based models.

Nyamathi’s research focuses on coping and adjustments to illness, health promotion and risk reduction with vulnerable homeless and drug-addicted adults and adolescents at risk for HIV/AIDS, TB, hepatitis B and hepatitis C.

Sarna is recognized for her work in promoting nursing involvement in tobacco control and in oncology nursing research focused on quality of life and symptoms of lung cancer patients. One recent study is an analysis of smoking trends of participants among healthcare professionals, published in JAMA in January.

By | 2014-04-07T00:00:00-04:00 April 7th, 2014|Categories: Regional, West|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment