You are here:-NJLN applauds standout RNs

NJLN applauds standout RNs

EDISON, N.J. — More than 450 nurses, family members and friends who attended the New Jersey League for Nursing nurse recognition awards gala Nov. 1 took part in an annual celebration of the professional contributions of their nursing colleagues.

“Our award winners willingly give of their time and energy to something bigger than themselves,” said NJLN President Carol Patterson, RN, MSN, CNE, associate professor, health sciences education, Raritan Valley Community College, Branchburg, N.J. “They exhibit dedication and determination as they serve and teach others, and they stand by their values and face adversity with courage and strength.”

Patterson kicked off the awards program by presenting’s Eileen P. Williamson, RN, MSN, senior vice president and CNE, with the 2013 NJLN President’s Award. She praised Williamson for her boundless energy, astute and thoughtful leadership and her state and national contributions to the profession.
Williamson was honored for her more than 12 years of service and dedication to NJLN. An active member of the board of directors since 2001, she has served as its president from 2010 to 2012.

“Being part of the NJLN has been an absolute gift,” Williamson said. “Our board and committee members are some of the most dedicated, hard-working, generous, committed and talented people in the world.”

Described by Patterson as “hurricane heroes who answered the call without hesitation and never lost sight of their mission during Superstorm Sandy,” the Visiting Nurses of the New Jersey Home Care Association was presented with the special recognition award.

The nurses at University Correctional Health Care received the corporate award in acknowledgment of the comprehensive care and services they provide to more than 23,000 adult inmates in 13 correctional facilities and 450 residents in 12 juvenile justice commission locations. Eight nursing scholarships for a total of $5,500 were awarded to nursing students who are enrolled in schools of nursing throughout the state.

Recipients of the 2013 NJLN Nurse Recognition Award were Saundra Austin-Benn, RN, MSN, APN, BC, president, Sylvia C. Edge Endowment board; Edna Cadmus, RN, PhD, FAAN, clinical professor, specialty director, leadership track, Rutgers University; Brian Dolan, RN, BSN, CEN, ACM, CCEMT-P, director, ED, Saint Barnabas Healthcare System; Mary E. Fortier, RN, EdD, CNL, assistant professor, Seton Hall University; Daphne Foster, RN, AAS, staff nurse, Saint Barnabas Medical Center, hospice and palliative care; Griselda Frane, RN, MA, CCRN, APN, CNE, senior instructor, CarePoint Health School of Nursing; Janine Graf-Kirk, RN-BC, MA, CNE, associate clinical professor, Trinitas School of Nursing; Diane Hassa, RN, MSN, education specialist, Saint Clare’s Health System; Mary E. Koch, RN, MSN, CNOR, perioperative educator, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center; Nancy Munoz, RN, MSN, CNS, New Jersey State Assemblywoman; Kathleen Neville, RN, PhD, professor, Kean University School of Nursing, and program coordinator, offsite program at Raritan Valley Community College; G. Elaine Patterson, RNC, EdD, MA, EdM, CNE, professor, Ramapo College of New Jersey; Susan Salmond, RN, EdD, ANEF, FAAN, dean and professor, Rutgers University School of Nursing; Rita Smith, RN, DNP, NEA-BC, CNO and senior vice president of patient care service, Jersey City Medical Center; Chris Wade, RN, BSN, CRRN, nurse manager, JFK Johnson Rehabilitation Institute; Deborah Zastocki, RN, DNP, NEA-BC, FACHE, president and CEO, Chilton Hospital.

Janice Petrella Lynch, RN, MSN, is nurse editor/nurse executive.


By | 2013-11-25T00:00:00-05:00 November 25th, 2013|Categories: Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment