You are here:----Loyola University earns grants to promote access to healthcare

Loyola University earns grants to promote access to healthcare

Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing in Maywood has received two grants from the Health Resources and Services Administration to foster interprofessional education and collaboration.

The first was an Interprofessional Promoting Access to Healthcare grant awarded to professor Ida Androwich, RN-BC, PhD, FAAN, FHIMSS. She will receive $1.05 million during a three-year period to engage nursing students in interprofessional education and clinical practice projects with dietetics and public health students.

Students will develop interprofessional team projects to address the healthcare needs of patients with multiple chronic conditions in minority or underserved areas. Their projects and other resources for conducting community assessments will be available on a website to support small or rural healthcare facilities in completing community health needs assessments and to provide better care for their populations.

“There is a critical need for nursing leaders educationally prepared to engage in and direct interprofessional teams to improve the quality of patient care,” Androwich said in a news release. “This grant will allow us to educate a variety of health professionals and improve interprofessional collaboration.

Faculty members who assisted with the grant include: MaryMargaret Sharp-Pucci, EdD, MPH; Joanne Kouba, PhD, RD, LDN; Fran Vlasses, RN, PhD, NEA-BC, ANEF, FAAN; Holly Kramer, MD; Sheila Haas, RN, PhD, FAAN; and Patricia Friend, PhD, APN-CNS, AOCN.

The second was an Interprofessional-Collaborative Redesign and Evaluation for Population Access to Health grant awarded to associate professor Fran Vlasses, RN, PhD, NEA-BC,ANEF, FAAN. Vlasses will receive $1.5 million during a three-year period to develop nurse leaders who will create collaborative environments to better care for patients in underserved areas.

“This grant will substantially increase the number of nursing, dietetics, social work and medical students who are prepared for interprofessional collaborative practice environments which increase access, coordinate care and promote health in the community,” Vlasses said in the release.

Loyola’s Health Sciences Division faculty members who assisted with the grant include: Diana Hackbarth, RN, PhD, FAAN; Elizabeth Burkhart, RN, PhD, MPH; Aaron Michelfelder, MD, FAAFP, FAAMA; Joanne Kouba, PhD, RD, LDN; and Sheila Haas, RN, PhD, RFAAN.

“These grants support the school’s efforts to foster education and collaboration across many healthcare disciplines,” Vicki Keough, RN, PhD, APRN-BC, ACNP, FAAN, dean of MNSON, said in the release. “This work will allow us to better serve our changing healthcare environment.”

By | 2013-11-19T00:00:00-05:00 November 19th, 2013|Categories: Greater Chicago, Regional|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment