You are here:--Northwestern Lake Forest presents Jean Ewing Nursing Excellence Award

Northwestern Lake Forest presents Jean Ewing Nursing Excellence Award

Northwestern Lake Forest (Ill.) Hospital awarded the 2013 Jean Ewing Nursing Excellence Award to Laura Pamay, RN, BSN, CPAN, CAPA, who works in surgical services at Northwestern Lake Forest.

“Laura represents the very best of our profession,” her supervisor, Judy Horvat, RN, BS, CAPA, CNML, said in a news release. “She gives the very best compassionate care to her patients and is a wonderful role model for our nursing staff.”

Pamay is chairwoman of the hospitalwide shared nursing leadership council and serves as a resource to other council chairs.

“In our day surgery unit, we have a phrase posted that I like to live by: ‘You are responsible for the energy you bring to this place.’ I believe that we cannot soar unless we have each other to soar with,” Pamay said in the release. “This is such an exciting time in nursing, and I am so happy to be a part of this profession.”

Pamay received the award during a Nurses Week luncheon for exemplifying the highest standards of professional and nursing excellence, according to the release.

“Laura is not only an exceptional nurse but also a committed leader for all the nurses at Northwestern Lake Forest,” Kimberly Nagy, RN, MSN, NEA-BC, vice president of operations and CNE, said in the release. “Recognizing Laura’s contributions and those of our entire nursing team during Nurses Week is just a small sign of our appreciation for their hard work and dedication to the health and safety of our patients.”

The hospital honored 11 other nurses with the 2013 Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital Nursing Excellence awards. The winners were:

• Quality of practice – Michelle Zillmann, RN

• Education – Diane Duddles, RN, APN

• Professional practice evaluation – Kristine Austin, RN

• Communication – Laura Viti, RN

• Collaboration – Michelle Nisbet, RN

• Ethics – Kathleen Ruh, RN

• Evidence-based practice and research – Stephanie Risch, RN

• Resource utilization – Melinda Tomzik, RN

• Leadership – Ivy Reyes, RN

• Environmental health – Damary Maldonado Casey, RN

• Advance practice – Laura Meller, RN, MS, APN, CNS-BC

The award recipients were honored for their quality and compassion in caring for patients, families and nursing colleagues and for meeting the American Nurses Association’s Standards of Professional Performance, according to the release.


CE Subscriptions Built for Your Convenience!

750+ ANCC-accredited courses. 2 subscription options. CE that
meets your needs.

By | 2021-05-29T22:33:13-04:00 July 11th, 2013|Categories: Nursing Awards|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment