You are here:----UW School of Nursing names 2013 Nurse Leader awardees

UW School of Nursing names 2013 Nurse Leader awardees

The University of Washington School of Nursing announced the winners of its annual nurses leadership awards. The awards will be presented May 8 at the school’s Nurses Recognition Banquet at Benaroya Hall in Seattle. In celebration of National Nurses Week, the 2013 Nursing Leadership Award winners include:

Distinguished Alumni Award: Sallie Davis-Kirsch, RN-BC, PhD, MN, is chief of quality and practice for ambulatory services at Seattle Children’s Hospital. The award recognizes a University of Washington School of Nursing alumna or alumnus whose career in nursing exemplifies excellence in clinical practice, leadership in professional organizations, outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the community.

Frances Marcus Lewis, RN

Distinguished Researcher Award: Frances Marcus Lewis, RN, PhD, MN, FAAN, is the University of Washington Medical Center endowed professor in nursing leadership, family and child nursing, University of Washington School of Nursing. The award recognizes a nurse researcher whose professional achievements and cumulative contributions have brought personal distinction, enhanced the profession, improved the welfare of the general public and brought honor and prestige to her field.

Laurie Soine, RN

Distinguished Practitioner Award: Laurie Soine, RN, ARNP, PhD, MN, is a nuclear cardiology nurse practitioner at University of Washington Medical Center. The award honors a nurse whose dedicated work and exemplary service have benefited society and the practice of nursing. Any nurse who has demonstrated service above and beyond expectations is eligible for this award.

Victoria Fletcher, RN

Distinguished Diversity Advocate Award: Victoria Fletcher, RN, MSN, CNM, FACNM, is director of accreditation at Planned Parenthood Federation of America. The award, which is new this year, honors a nurse who advocates for the needs of underrepresented populations and communities. This individual encourages dialogue and reflection regarding societal power imbalances and demonstrates leadership in promoting diversity in nursing.

Each year, University of Washington asks the community to nominate distinguished nurses for these awards. A selection committee is appointed to review the nominations. This year four University of Washington School of Nursing alumnae are winners.

For event information, call Glory Visario at 206-543-3019 or visit to register. Proceeds from the event will benefit the School of Nursing’s Scholarship Fund.

By | 2020-04-15T09:06:47-04:00 April 19th, 2013|Categories: Regional, West|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment