You are here:----Greater Chicago nurses celebrate career accomplishments

Greater Chicago nurses celebrate career accomplishments

RN, Indiana University Health La Porte (Ind.) Hospital

The hospital awarded three Employee Health team members — including Mejer — with the prestigious Giraffe Award for their efforts during a recent employee immunization drive. Mejer was honored along with medical assistants Tami Yarbough and Patricia Schult.

The Giraffe Award is presented to employees and/or departmental staff of La Porte and Starke hospitals who have gone beyond the call of duty in their jobs. In 2010, the immunization rate for all hospital employees and volunteers was 49%. In an effort to raise the percentage, and ultimately protect against the flu, the Employee Health team immunized 75.6% of hospital personnel — more than 1,100 employees — in 2011.

That percentage also met The Joint Commission requirements. To increase immunizations, the team received the help of all department heads in distributing information and administering the vaccine. Four choices of vaccination methods were provided to employees to assure maximum participation. A mobile immunization cart was placed in strategic locations throughout the hospital to target employees coming and going.

Derrick Smith, RN

University of Chicago Medicine: Mary Ellyn Witt, RN, MS, AOCN, had the abstract “Survivorship after radiation to the oral cavity – strategies to promote adherence to dental preservation recommendations” selected for poster presentation to the 2012 European Ocology Nursing Society spring convention in Geneva, Switzerland.

Northern Illinois Hospice and Grief Center, Rockford, Ill.: Pain resource nurses Jessica Wulf, RN, BSN, CHPN; Sue Fricke, RN; Char Carlson, RN-BC, CHPN; Valerie Hughes-Reuss, RN; Rebecca Strong, RN, BSN; and Linda Loner, RN, were among six staff members from the center to attend a recent all-day conference in Rockford, hosted by the Northern Illinois Pain Resource Nurse Consortium.

Saints Mary and Elizabeth Medical Center, Chicago: Sister Antonia Klausner, RN, CSFN, MSN, who served as coordinator of standards/education before her death Feb.4 at age 93, received the 2011 Illinois Nurses Association Continuing Education/Staff Development Award at the INA’s 81st biennial convention in East Peoria.

Klausner had served for the past 12 years as a volunteer member of the INA Accredited Approver Unit Peer Review Panel. From 1965 to 1986, she served as director of the Saint Mary of Nazareth School of Nursing, Chicago.

Kim Beckwith, RN

Edward Hospital, Naperville, Ill.: Angela Hart, RN, will serve as pain management content expert registry for the American Nurses Credentialing Center.

She was elected treasurer of the local chapter of the American Society of Pain Management Nurses for 2012-14. RNs Derrick Smith, cancer center; Kim Beckwith, labor and delivery; and Sue Grimaldi, ICU, received DAISY awards. Sue Rio, RN, precepted nine nursing students from Joliet Junior College about the expanded role of an IBCLC.

Terry Scott, RN, has been promoted to clinical leader on the short stay unit. Susan O’Shea (November 2011) and Lisa Weber (December 2011) won the Good Catch Award.

Newly certified RNs include Donna Ernest, Cheryl Lilly, Kelli O’Reilly, Bernie Sims, Kathryn Wermes, Amy Eckberg, Aimee Tetens and Majel Galang (CEN), Kaesuk You (recertified as cardiovascular invasive specialist), Kim Bretwisch (recertified in inpatient OB), Joanne Collins (clinical documentation specialist), Melinda Panzarella (recertification in maternal newborn nursing), Mary Larsen (nursing informatics), Gina Goodbred and Jennie Nash (recertification in inpatient obstetrics), Deborah Jordan and Shannon Jarot (IBCLC), Lori Thompson (clinical documentation specialist), Yichang Alice Kao (maternal neonatal nursing), Sharron Chivari (recertified as a SANE for adults and adolescents), Kaitlyn Rosales (CWOCN), Amy Rowe (CCRN), Marilyn Dunne (recertified as NEA-BC), Jill Wozny and Amy McGovern-Phalen (certified breast care nurse), Brenda Jagatic (CDE), Shelli Chernesky (critical care nursing-adult), Donna Kitchen (CNOR) and Lisa Tao (low-risk neonatal nursing).

Sue Grimaldi, RN

Recent graduates are RNs Lisa Winston (MSN in nursing administration from Northern Illinois University) and Jessa Leslie (MSN, pediatric NP program from the University of South Alabama).

Cathy McElmeel, Shannon Morris, Cindy Rentsch, Mary Ann Adams, Sandy Clow, Nancy Tolan, Christine Collins and Kelly Litterst provided dog bite prevention information at safety fairs.

Sandy Clow and Susan Remaly provided alcohol awareness at driver education classes, and Kimberly Bretwisch taught childbirth review in child development classes at a local high school.

By | 2020-04-15T09:40:14-04:00 May 1st, 2012|Categories: Greater Chicago, Regional|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment