You are here:--Nursing Excellence finalists selected for Advancing and Leading the Profession

Nursing Excellence finalists selected for Advancing and Leading the Profession

Elizabeth Bayley, RN Nursing Spectrum has chosen five finalists from the Philadelphia Tri-State region for the Advancing and Leading the Profession category in our 2012 Nursing Excellence Awards program.

The finalists will be recognized May 8 in a ceremony at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel, where a winner in the category also will be selected.

Elizabeth Bayley, RN, BSN, MS, PhD
Director of Nursing Research
Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children, Wilmington, Del.

Bayley has been a member of the planning committee for a nursing research conference hosted by the University of Delaware, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Christiana Care Health System and Nemours since the conference’s inception. She ensures that novice or newer nurse researchers present their work and that many nurses attend. She also offers valuable sessions at the conferences. Bayley has coordinated an evidence-based practice nursing fellowship for the past several years. Nurses who are accepted participate in a yearlong program that teaches them to explore a clinical question through using evidence from the literature. More than 30 nurses have graduated from this fellowship. Her nominator wrote: “She has a non-threatening approach to research that is both welcoming and encouraging at the same time. Nurses with absolutely no understanding of research are becoming nursing scientists through her mentorship.”

James Ballinghoff, RN

James Ballinghoff, RN, MSN, MBA, NEA-BC
Director of Critical Care and Cardiology
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, Philadelphia

Ballinghoff, in addition to his regular duties, is the co-chairman of the Code/Rapid Response Team and is a member of the Cardio-Thoracic Performance Improvement Committee and the Bloodstream Infection Committee. He is the first nurse manager in the health system whose units received the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Beacon Award for critical care excellence. The CCU and SICU, two of the units under Ballinghoff’s leadership, received the Beacon in 2010 for achieving dramatic improvements in patient outcomes and demonstrating quality of critical care nursing. His thoracic surgery unit earned top-10 recognition for the 2009 Delaware Valley Patient Safety Award with its patient ambulation program, which addresses the need for safe ambulation of the post-operative thoracic surgery patient. He is active in community service events and fundraisers and has volunteered for the AIDS Coalition of Southern New Jersey and Operation Smile.

Richard Webster, RN

Richard Webster, RN, MSN
Vice president, Perioperative/Administrator Musculoskeletal Services
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia

Webster implemented a new information technology system to manage and utilize perioperative data to improve efficiency and identify opportunities for cost reduction in the OR. His introduction of the Surgery Compass Advisory Board product allows staff to set targets and generate reports for a variety of metrics. Utilizing the LEAD methodology, he helped improve efficiency in the OR through better patient flow management, product review and reduced implant wastage. Webster applied for and obtained Joint Commission certification for spine surgery and for joint replacement — hip and knee, as well as Independence Blue Cross Blue Distinction Center status for hip, knee and spine surgery. He participated in a nine-month project for the Joint Commission for Transforming Health Care, a consultant arm of the Joint Commission. The project, “Reducing the Risk of Wrong Site Surgery,” included seven hospitals throughout the country. Webster developed a team at Thomas Jefferson to review every surgical process, procedure and policy at the hospital.

Ann O’Sullivan, CRNP

Ann O’Sullivan, CRNP, PhD, FAAN
Dr. Hildagarde Reynolds Endowed Term Professor of Primary Care Nursing
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

O’Sullivan serves as director of the Penn School of Nursing’s Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner and Family Nurse Practitioner programs. She has worked to translate the Consensus Model for APRN Regulation into action plans for schools of nursing and professional associations across the country. Since her initial appointment to the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing, O’Sullivan has moved into leadership roles with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, which recognized her contribution with its Meritorious Service Award and, most recently, her election to its board of directors. She concentrates on the policy work necessary to assure APRNs are well positioned to play the role envisioned in the IOM’s Future of Nursing report and works to remove scope of practice barriers. She works with state legislatures, lobbyists and APRN coalitions to bring about change in the most successful way for each state.

Marianne Kraemer, RN

Marianne Kraemer, RN, BSN, EdM, MPA, CCRN
Assistant Vice President for Clinical Practice
Kennedy Health System, Stratford, N.J.

As the nurse executive responsible for infection control, Kraemer led teams resulting in accreditation by The Joint Committee and the American Osteopathic Association with zero recommendations for improvement in 2009. Her nominator wrote that Kraemer “has maintained these same outcomes since then, and as a result I am confident the health system will continue this level of performance as we prepare for regulatory surveys in 2012.” Working with three intensivist medical directors and the respiratory therapy department, Kraemer has helped her 181-bed hospital have no ventilator-associated pneumonias for the past two years. Across the health system’s three hospitals, there have been no VAPs for the past six months, and the VAP rate has been reduced by 75% in two years. Kraemer was instrumental in supporting the development and refinement of stroke alerts, resulting in all three health system hospitals attaining state designation as Primary Stroke Centers.

By | 2021-05-28T11:39:07-04:00 April 16th, 2012|Categories: Nursing Awards|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment