You are here:----New Mexico nurses praised at annual awards; UNM nursing dean receives top honor

New Mexico nurses praised at annual awards; UNM nursing dean receives top honor

Twenty-five nurses and one friend of nursing received awards during the 2011 New Mexico Center for Nursing Excellence ceremony Oct. 15 at the Hyatt Tamaya Resort in Albuquerque, N.M.

Nancy Ridenour, dean and professor of the University of New Mexico College of Nursing, received the top honor: New Mexico Distinguished Nurse of the Year. Ridenour has been in nursing for 37 years and has worked as dean and professor at the UNM College of Nursing for nearly three years.

In her nomination, Ridenour was described as “transformational,” possessing an ability to bring individuals together for a common cause that has sparked a number of important new initiatives for nursing in New Mexico.

Ridenour is credited with helping initiate the New Mexico Nursing Education Consortium in 2009 to allow deans, directors, faculty and community members from across the state to work on a statewide plan for nursing education. About 165 nominations were submitted for this year’s awards. •

For more information, visit or call 505-889-4518.

Nancy Ridenour, RN

Additional 2011 honorees:

1. Excellence in Advanced Practice: Sophia Rodgers, nurse practitioner, Southwest Internists, Inc., Albuquerque.

2. Excellence in Ambulatory Care: Kelly Wascher, outreach manager, Lovelace Women’s Hospital, Albuquerque.

3. Excellence in Behavioral Health: Charles Kaiman, clinical nurse specialist, New Mexico VA Healthcare System, Albuquerque.

4. Excellence in Case/Quality Management/Managed Care/Informatics: Vicki Broshious, director of case management, Lovelace Women’s Hospital, Albuquerque.

5. Excellence in Community Service: Donna Bracken, staff nurse, New Mexico VA Healthcare System, Albuquerque.

6. Excellence in Critical Care Nursing: Candi Kohler, staff nurse, Presbyterian Hospital, Albuquerque.

7. Excellence in Education/Research/Academia: Lorena Beeman, director, community training and simulation center, University of New Mexico Hospitals, Albuquerque.

8. Excellence in Emergency Care: Elizabeth Estrada, director of emergency services, Artesia General Hospital, Artesia.

9. Excellence in Home Health/Hospice Nursing: Karen Modjeska-Oravec, home-based primary care nurse manager, New Mexico VA Healthcare System, Albuquerque.

10. Excellence in Long-Term Care/Rehabilitation: Lisa McCoy, director of nursing services, The Village at Northrise, Las Cruces.

11. Excellence in Maternal-Child/Women’s Health: Shannon Salazar, staff nurse, Lovelace Women’s Hospital, Albuquerque.

12. Excellence in Med/Surg: Richard Noice, inpatient nurse, University of New Mexico Hospitals, Albuquerque.

13. Excellence in Nurse Management/Emerging Leadership: Carey Carter, nurse supervisor, University of New Mexico Hospitals, Albuquerque.

14. Nightingale: Jesse White, staff nurse, Los Alamos Medical Center, Los Alamos.

15. Excellence in Nurse Executive Leadership: Lynn Arnold, director, Memorial Medical Center Cancer Center, Las Cruces.

16. Outstanding Nursing Student: Homer Lee Greer, nurse technician, Presbyterian Hospital, Albuquerque.

17. Excellence in Perioperative Nursing: Connie Hardy Tabet, staff nurse/relief charge nurse, University of New Mexico Hospitals, Albuquerque.

18. Excellence in Rural Practice: Ronda Tasker Clayton, director of pharmacy, Artesia General Hospital, Artesia.

19. Excellence in School/Community/Public Health: John Hartoon, region chief nurse, New Mexico Public Health Region 5, Las Cruces.

20. Touch a Life: Mary Elizabeth Hays, hospice nurse, Presbyterian Healthcare Services.

21. Friend of Nursing: Patti R. Watson, president of Cooney, Watson & Associates Inc., Albuquerque.

22-25. Legends of Nursing: Mary Lou Banks and Joe Hunter, both of Albuquerque, Wanda Mansell of Magdalena and Susan Ripley of Santa Fe.

By | 2020-04-15T14:02:29-04:00 December 5th, 2011|Categories: Regional, West|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment