You are here:----Texas nurses earn accolades, applause

Texas nurses earn accolades, applause

The following Texas nurses are applauded for their work within the nursing profession on behalf of patients and colleagues.

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio —

Linda Porter-Wenzlaff, RN, PhD, has received a national award for her work in promoting diversity within the nursing workforce. The Prism Award is sponsored by the American Nurses Credentialing Center and was presented by the American Organization of Nurse Executives at its annual meeting recently in San Diego. Porter-Wenzlaff is an associate professor/clinical and distinguished teaching professor.

She established and chaired an ad hoc committee on diversity and intercultural issues. Through the committee, Porter-Wenzlaff helped develop workshops for faculty and staff and encouraged them to participate in an extensive cultural continuing education program offered through the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Minority Health. She worked with the undergraduate faculty to incorporate diversity into the curriculum and promoted student focus groups to identify areas for further cultural education. She also helped establish a process for developing culturally competent policies and procedures. She helped initiate an online multicultural calendar and the International Nursing Student Association.

Janine Primomo, RN

Professor Julie Novak, RN, DNSc, CPNP, FAANP, received the Henry K. Silver award from the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners. The award was presented during the opening session of the association’s 32nd Annual Conference on Pediatric Health in Baltimore in March. The award, named in honor of Silver, a pediatrician and co-founder of the nurse practitioner role, is presented to an individual who has contributed to the expansion or improvement of pediatric healthcare and the advancement of the profession of pediatric nurse practitioners at the national or international level.

During her 34-year career, Novak has developed nurse-managed clinics, educated hundreds of pediatric nurse practitioners, initiated a doctor of nursing practice degree and led nursing students on service-learning projects abroad. She holds the Thelma and Joseph Crow Endowed Professorship and is director of the Student Health Center, Employee Health and Wellness Clinic and the UT Nursing Clinical Enterprise, which provides care for more than 10,000. In 18 months, Novak revamped the Student Health Center, doubling the number of exam rooms and patients seen. She oversees multiple clinics attached to Early Head Start and Head Start and a day care associated with Healy Murphy Center, an alternative high school for at-risk students. Plans are under way to add additional clinics to the School of Nursing’s network this year.

Christus Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital, San Antonio —

Patty Toney, RN

Janine Primomo, RN, MSN, director of the children’s cancer and blood disorders program, will be recognized by the American Cancer Society for her efforts in providing compassionate care and support to individuals with cancer. Primomo was presented with the 2011 Lane Adams Quality of Life Award for exemplary cancer care on May 12 in Atlanta. The Lane Adams Quality of Life Award promotes improved quality of life for all people with cancer and their families through public recognition of exemplary individuals who practice compassionate, skilled cancer care and who extend the warm hand of service.

Primomo has been an American Cancer Society volunteer through her work with Camp Discovery, a summer camp for children with cancer, for 27 years and has played an important role in the lives of pediatric cancer patients at CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital. In a news release, she is described as an innovator, leader and role model among her staff, and as a positive and encouraging nurse to her patients.

Patty Toney, RN, MSN, has been named vice president and chief nursing executive. Toney will retain her role as CNO at Christus Santa Rosa Hospital – New Braunfels.

“I look forward to this opportunity to build upon the exemplary care we provide for the patients we are privileged to serve and to work toward fulfilling the Christus mission, which is to extend the healing ministry of Jesus Christ,” she said.

June Marshall, RN

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing campuses —

The Panhandle Nurse Practitioner’s Association has selected Shelly Seth, RN, MSN, MBA, as the 2011 Nurse Practitioner of the Year. Seth has served on the association’s Amarillo board as a representative for Texas Nurse Practitioners. In addition to her responsibility as a state representative, she worked on obtaining nonprofit status for the association, and established a mentoring program for new graduate nurse practitioners, providing them guidance and leadership. Texas Tech alumnus Michael L. Evans, RN, PhD, was named as the university’s new School of Nursing dean. In January, Evans was appointed as the next president of the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the largest nurse credentialing organization and subsidiary of the American Nurses Association.

Texas Health Resources, Dallas —

Three Texas Health Resources’ nurse executives earned their Doctor of Nursing Practice degrees this spring from Texas Christian University, including Cole Edmonson, RN, DNP, FACHE, NEA-BC, CNO and vice president of patient care services; Joan Clark, RN, DNP, NEA-BC, CENP, FACHE, FAAN, senior vice president and system chief nurse executive for Texas Health Resources; and June Marshall, RN, DNP, NEA-BC, director of advancing professional nursing practice at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas.

By | 2020-04-15T12:58:07-04:00 July 11th, 2011|Categories: Regional, South|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment