You are here:----Texas A&M charters chapter and honors nurses

Texas A&M charters chapter and honors nurses

On May 15, Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Nursing officially became the Phi Iota Chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau International organization for nurse leaders during a chartering ceremony. “When the College of Nursing began, community nurses who are STTI members asked how soon we could have a chapter here so they could continue active membership,” Sharon Wilkerson, RN, PhD, dean of the TAMHSC-College of Nursing, and president of the chapter, said in a news release. “This prompted us to develop a local honor society in preparation of applying to STTI.”

To be considered for an STTI chapter, the TAMHSC College of Nursing had to establish a college honor society, reach at least 50 members and provide programs for a minimum of one calendar year. After students and community nurse leaders were inducted into an honor society and other requirements were met, the STTI Board of Delegates approved the college’s new chapter.

Award winners from the Building a Legacy — The Nurses’ Ball included Legacy award winners given, from left, RNs Jennifer Weltens, Charlotte Ferguson, Linda Parker, Cindy Manning and Rachel Williams.

Other Honor Society officers for 2010-11 include Anne Rathke, RN, MSN, vice president; Karen Landry, RN, MSN, PhD, secretary; Sonia Turnbow, MSN, WHNP, treasurer; and Kathryn Cochran, RN, MSN, and Mary Alice Middlebrooks, RN, MSN, counselors.

In other news, to recognize the nursing profession and honor leadership, innovation and compassion in nursing practice, the TAMHSC College of Nursing hosted the inaugural presentation of The Legacy Awards on May 14 as part of Building a Legacy — The Nurses’ Ball. “The College of Nursing is thrilled to recognize nurses from the Brazos Valley who daily demonstrate excellence in nursing practice,” Wilkerson said. “Nurses touch the lives of so many people; we are proud to recognize their accomplishments and their legacy.”

RNs were recognized in the following categories: Linda Parker, The College Station Medical Center, Nurse of the Year; Charlotte Ferguson, director of performance improvement at St. Joseph Hospital System, Nurse in a Hospital Setting; Jennifer Weltens, Abundant Life Family Practice, Nurse in a Community Setting; Cindy Manning, nursing program assistant director, Nurse as an Educator, Preceptor or Mentor; and Rachel Williams, Blinn College, Student Nurse.

By | 2020-04-15T13:30:29-04:00 July 11th, 2011|Categories: Regional, South|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment