You are here:----A celebration of nursing

A celebration of nursing

Hospitals and healthcare facilities around the nation celebrated National Nurses Week from May 6-12 by recognizing the valuable contributions of nurses. Here is a look at how some facilities in the Greater Chicago region marked the week.

Northwest Community Hospital, Arlington Heights, Ill.: The celebration included a special event each day, including Sweet Treat Day, with every nurse getting a cupcake personally delivered; Wellness Day, with a hospital conference room converted into a spa-like environment for back massages, hand massages, hair styling and makeup consultations; and Picnic in the Park, with food and fun offered in a themed conference room.

From left, Adventist GlenOaks Hospital Nurse of the Year Jim Rowe, RN, is congratulated by Jackie Conrad, RN, vice president of patient care services/CNO.

Northwestern Lake Forest (Ill.) Hospital: The hospital awarded the Jean Ewing Nursing Excellence Award to Patricia “Trish” Alex, RN, cardiac cath lab.

Ten other nurses earned Nursing Excellence awards: Quality of Practice — Kathleen Halpern, RN; Education — Colleen Smyrniotis, RN, CNS; Professional Practice Evaluation — Alesia Devine, RN; Communication — Sally Mahan, RN; Collaboration — Lori Patsis, RN; Ethics — Mary McKeever, RN; Evidence-Based Practice and Research — Alesia Devine, RN; Resource Utilization — Tami Zwiefka, RN; Leadership — Susan Johnson, RN; Environmental Health — Tami Zwiefka, RN.

Nurses from the hospital’s Westmoreland Extended/Long-Term Care unit were awarded the Speci-Cup for designing a display that illustrated the theme “Nurses Trusted to Care.”

Patricia “Trish” Alex, RN

The unit received a trophy during the May 11 luncheon that honored 45 nurses with at least 25 years of service, who enjoyed a breakfast with Vice President of Operations and CNE Kim Nagy, RN, MSN, CNS, NEA-BC.

Loyola University Health System, Maywood, Ill.: Hospice nurse Marie Shanahan, RN, was named Nurse of the Year during Loyola’s annual Nursing Excellence Award Ceremony on May 4.

Other RNs recognized were Marlene Moreno (Clinical Expert), Diane Stace, Valentina Chapa, Carol McDonald and Mary Grace Derayunan (Role Model), Dawn Mack (Coach/Mentor), Jan McGee (Patient Advocate), Sandra Weszelits (Advanced Practice Nurse), Sharon McHugh, Ann Marie Burke and Nancy Madsen (Innovator) and Ann Edlbauer, Mary Altier and Janet Palutsis (Nurse Leader).

Photo courtesy of Provena Saint Joseph Medical Center
Progressive care unit RNs Elizabeth Donnelly, at left, and Joann Pikul attended “The Future of Nursing is Here” discussion as part of National Nurses Week events.

Adventist GlenOaks Hospital, Glendale Heights, Ill.: Jim Rowe, RN, an ED nurse, was honored as the hospital’s Nurse of the Year.

Our Lady of the Resurrection Medical Center, Chicago: Our Lady of the Resurrection announced this year’s Nursing Excellence Award winners.

Yaedmie Caraballo, RN, team leader, ICU, earned the Nursing Leadership Award.

Maryann O’Connor, RN, outpatient surgery unit, earned the Nursing Clinical Excellence Award.

Flora Andaya, RN

Provena Saint Joseph Medical Center, Joliet, Ill.: The Award & Recognition Luncheon honored Nurse of the Year was Melissa Trafton, RN, med/surg;,and Nurse Leader of the Year Cathy Jeropke, RN, patient care manager, medical oncology, along with nominees for the awards.

Jacqueline Medland. RN, PhD, vice president, patient care services and CNE, presented “The Future of Nursing is Here.”

Yaedmie Caraballo, RN

Saints Mary and Elizabeth Medical Center, Chicago: A presentation May 9 by Peggy Reth, RN, BS, Horizon Hospice, featured hands-on calculations for pain-medication management.

Nurses enjoyed free lunches May 10, and the presentation May 12 of the first DAISY Award to Flora Andaya, RN, BSN.

Maryann O’Connor, RN

Scholarship awards went to RNs Tamara Morrison (BSN completion, Chamberlain College of Nursing), Zhana Shchetyna (BSN completion, Grand Canyon University), and Jessica Miller (NP student, Resurrection University).

Research grants were awarded to Lauren Paul and Jennifer Kirk.

A $100 spa-day raffle prize was awarded on each unit.

By | 2020-04-15T13:09:54-04:00 June 13th, 2011|Categories: Greater Chicago, Regional|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment