You are here:----Florida RNs Remain in the Spotlight

Florida RNs Remain in the Spotlight

James A. Haley Veterans Hospital in Tampa — Innette Sarduy, RN, MPH, NEA-BC, chief nurse for acute care services, has been named the Florida Organization of Nurse Executives Nurse Leader of the Year. The award is granted to one Florida nurse leader each year for leadership and outstanding contributions to nursing. Sarduy served as the facility champion for a national pilot of the Transforming Care at the Bedside project and has spearheaded patient flow and systems redesign projects at the VA. She is a mentor for colleagues and emerging nurse leaders throughout the state and nationally.

Oak Hill Hospital, Spring Hill — Cindy McWhorter, RNC, was named a Star Associate for the month of August.

Miami Dade College — Nursing professor Constance Miller, RN, MSN, is the 2010 recipient of Florida Campus Compacts’ Community Engagement Educator Award. The Community Engagement Educator Award recognizes and honors outstanding individuals for significant contributions to the institutionalization of community engagement. The award winners include individuals who forge sustainable campus-community partnerships that enhance the collegiate experience and help students become more active citizens. Miller played a key role in the opening of the MDC and Miami Rescue Mission clinic in 2009.

Innette Sarduy, RN

Bay Pines VA Healthcare System — Several nurses earned national certification in their specialty areas, including: Teresa Kumar, RN, nurse executive, advanced; Gyneth James, RN, emergency nursing; Eric Stocki, RN, addictions nursing; Melody Cannon, RN, psychiatric and mental health; Jacqueline Walsch, RN, ARNP, HIV specialist; Michelle Williams, RN, case management; Joanne Eastman-Gaudreau, RN, health risk management; and Joanne DeBiasa, RN, Lourdes Silverio, RN, and Rachel Bryant, RN, ambulatory care nursing.

Shands at the University of Florida, Gainesville — Irene Alexaitis, RN, MSN, NEA-BC, vice president and CNO, was named the 2010 Nursing Administrator of the Year by the Florida Nurses Association. Alexaitis has 30 years of nursing experience, with 28 years in administrative and management positions. She joined Shands at UF in 1989 as a nurse manager and has held various positions at Shands.

Florida Nurses Foundation — The FNF announced the recipients of 2010 research grants. This year, FNF awarded funding for six research grants to students throughout the state. Grant recipients include RNs Deborah Saber-Moore, “A Meta-Analysis of Registered Nurse Job Satisfaction Predictors Over Three Decades” ; Vicki Montoya, “Development of a Chronic Kidney Disease Knowledge Tool”; Lisa Wands, “Multidimensional Health for Veterans Returning Home From War”; Douglas Sutton, “The Lived Experience of Nurses Who Serve As Support Group Leaders For Persons Who Have Undergone a Surgical Weight Loss Intervention”; Amber Vermeesch, “Why Latinas Exercise: A Multi-Method Exploration of Motivators Using Participatory Photography Methodology”; and Cheryl Bergman, “Promoting a Gold Standard Emergency Department Model of Care”.

The FNF also announced the recipients of 2010 scholarships, awarding funding for 31 scholarships, more than $16,000, to students throughout the state. 2010 scholarship recipients include Lolita Melhado, Florida Gulf Coast University; Barbara Green, University of Central Florida; Sophia Khawly, Florida State University; Leigh Ann Del Rio, Keiser University; Christina Amidei, University of Central Florida; George Byron Smith, Case Western Reserve University; April Hellner, St. Petersburg College; Catrina Quinn, the University of Central Florida; Snezana Radnovic, Miami Dade College; Lindsay Capito, Florida State University; Giovanna Craveiro, South University; Lisa Kern, Walden University; Joann Andrews, University of Florida; Felusha Denford, Jacksonville University; Stephaney Ayres, University of Miami; Natalie Camara, Broward College; Delilah Plate, Daytona State College; Amanda Hughes, University of Central Florida; Elisa Rush, Florida State University; Isis Gonzalez, Nova Southeastern University; Sadie Abboud, Florida State University; Jennifer Anderson, Barry University; Yexica Perez, Florida Atlantic University; Michela Lambert, South University; Sanique Brown, Florida Atlantic University; Bessy Benjamin, Florida International University; Suraj Wagh, St. Petersburg College; Eva-Maria Gonzalez, Florida International University; Cheryl Roche, University of Florida; Lisa Sellers, Florida Atlantic University; Theresa Owens, University of Central Florida.

By | 2020-04-15T14:32:59-04:00 November 8th, 2010|Categories: Regional, South|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment