You are here:----South Central Nurses Shine

South Central Nurses Shine

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio’s School of Nursing — Norma Martinez Rogers, RN, PhD, FAAN, professor of family nursing care at the Health Science Center and president of the National Hispanic Nurses Association, will lead the school’s Hispanic nursing student mentoring program, which gained federal funding of $500,000. The mentoring program will identify Hispanic students who aspire to enter careers in nursing and assist them throughout their nursing education at UTHSC. The program matches second- and third-semester nursing students with first-semester nursing students who are considered to be at risk for dropping out of school. The mentors serve as role models who positively influence and guide students to continue through school and to realize their career goals.

Joyce Miller, RN, DNP, assistant professor, was selected to receive the 2010 Heart of Nursing Award from Theta Alpha Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau. Miller was recommended for her outstanding mentoring and demonstration of caring for a fellow student nurse. She went out of her way to arrange a preceptor and temporary housing and assisted the student throughout the licensure process. Her behavior stimulated her colleague to assist, adjusting her schedule to accommodate the visiting student, thus, promoting caring, courage and honor.

Tera Pape, RN

Midwestern State University (Wichita Falls, Texas) — The American Organization of Nurse Executives named AONE member Pamela Bradshaw, RN, CCRN, NE-BC, the 2009 alumnus of the year for the College of Health Sciences and Human Services College awards for distinguished alumnus are presented each year by the MSU Alumni Association and honors an alumnus who has achieved distinction and recognition after attending the school. Bradshaw currently serves as the vice president of nursing and clinical services at United Regional Health Care System in Texas.

Texas Christian University, Fort Worth — Kathleen Baldwin, RN, PhD, CNS, director of graduate studies in nursing, was recognized for her outstanding volunteer service with the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists. The Sue B. Davidson Service Award annually honors one clinical nurse specialist nationwide. It was presented by the association’s board of directors at the annual conference this week in Portland, Ore. Baldwin has been instrumental in promoting widespread use of CNS competencies and was co-principal investigator for the first grant the NACNS received to increase CNS’s knowledge of care of older adults.

Tom Button, RN

Texas Woman’s University — Tera Pape, RN, an associate professor of nursing, was appointed to serve on the Recommended Practices Committee of the Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses. Pape is one of 12 AORN members selected for the committee. According to AORN, the Recommended Practices Committee contributes to updating and revising the standards of practice for OR nursing.

Joyce Miller, RN

Houston (Texas) Northwest Medical Center — Grace Heffron, RN, has been inducted into the Tenet Heroes Hall of Fame, Tenet Healthcare Corporation’s highest award for employees. Heffron, who co-chairs the hospital’s bioethics committee, helps family members understand that the decision to allow a loved one to die may be in the best interests of the patient. Heffron also counsels patients and family members about the benefits of organ donation and serves as the hospital’s liaison with LifeGift, a local organ donation organization. Tenet Heroes are nominated by their hospital’s leadership team and selected based on their dedication to their patients, co-workers and communities.

Grace Heffron, RN

Parkland Health & Hospital System, Dallas — Tom Button, RN, has joined the system as director of infection prevention and control. He is responsible for programs and processes that help to prevent and control the spread of infections.

Texas Health Southwest, Fort Worth, Texas — Kathryne Vance, RN, endoscopy resource nurse at Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Southwest Fort Worth, was selected among gastroenterology and endoscopy nurses and associates nationwide to receive the 2010 National Proud to be GI Award, which recognizes an individual who exemplifies the qualities noteworthy in the role of the GI nurse or associate based on excellent leadership, communication, teamwork, task management and mentoring. Vance helped provide guidance and expertise for the $1.7 million expansion and renovation of the hospital’s endoscopy suite in 2008. Under her nursing leadership, the hospital has introduced two new advanced endoscopic and GI procedures: endobronchial ultrasound, a minimally invasive technique for diagnosing lung cancer; and cryoablation, a method of removing abnormalities in the airway with a reduced risk of complication.

St. Tammany Hospital Foundation, Covington, La. — The 2010 Dorothy L. Blossman Nursing Scholarship was awarded to St. Tammany Parish Hospital employee Pauline Burrall, RN, BSN. Burrall is pursuing an MSN in the nurse practitioner program at the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing and is focusing on Primary Care in Community Health/Public Health Nursing.

St. David’s South Austin (Texas) Medical Center — Candiss Hurt, RN, was named the Registered Nurse of the Year. Hurt is known for providing outstanding patient care while placing patients and families at ease. She is a charge nurse, preceptor and chairwoman of the Employee Retention Committee.

“I smile to think of the young nurse who walked in my office visibly nervous for her interview to the nurse standing today, who is now growing other new nurses,” Tricia Casler, RN, CMSRN, director of nursing telemetry, said during the award announcement.

By | 2020-04-15T14:12:35-04:00 June 14th, 2010|Categories: Regional, South|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment