You are here:----Florida Nurses Shine

Florida Nurses Shine

Case Western Reserve University in south Florida — Retired RN Dorothy Ebersbach received the Congressional Gold Medal in March in Washington, D.C., according to a article. The 95-year-old former pilot was honored for service in World War II. She is one of 1,100 women who received the award for their service as military aircraft pilots in WWII. Ebersbach, who could not attend the award ceremony, did routine test runs on planes that had been damaged and repaired for flight.

Florida Nurses Association — The FNA celebrated clinical excellence in nursing in April at the 23rd annual Ingeborg Mauksch Clinical Excellence Conference in Orlando. RN honorees included Dawn Boughton and Norma Gonzalez, Morton Plant Mease Health Care, Dunedin; Paul Busi, Julie Chatfield, Maggie Leavitt and Aileen Staller, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa; Mary Cousins, Barbara Davis-Sears, Lissette Levine and Deon Wolliston, Holtz Children’s Hospital, Miami; Erika Fenimore, Orlando Health; Renee Galik, Lee Memorial Health System, Gulf Coast Medical Center, Fort Myers; Teresita Hardin, St. Joseph’s Hospital, Tampa; Susan Hinds, Lakeland Regional Medical Center; Judy Miller, Lee Memorial Health System – HealthPark Medical Center, Fort Myers; Charles Nimer, Baptist Health of Miami; Debbie Price, Santa Rosa County School Health Department, Gulf Breeze; Susan Ratterree, Hope Healthcare Services – Hope Hospice, Cape Coral. Tampa General Hospital also was awarded the association’s Frances Smith Award for their promotion of clinical excellence in the workplace.

Corinne Campbell-Romano, RN

Palm Beach Gardens (Fla.) Medical Center — Corinne Campbell-Romano, RN, MSN, CENP, was named CNO. Campbell-Romano has 29 years of nursing experience, the majority of which have been in management and leadership roles.

Annette Gibson, RN

Florida Hospital — The Florida Hospital Nursing Excellence Awards luncheon held in April honored RNs who were nominated and selected based on their compassion and innovation shown in patient care, leadership, education, nursing excellence and research. RN winners included Evan Ballantyne, Janet Celli, Sherry Joyce, Jane Mcgrory, Betty Epley, Sharon Crumley, Kathy Montoya, Vicki Picco, Bella Carbonell, Marie Hays, Laura Wilkins, Janet Rodriguez, Alba Gonzalez Cruz, Huldah Turner, Ihla Wolfe, Kimberlee Morrell, Jessica Marcello, Melyndi Stokes, Vicki Stevens, Hallie Peyton, Amy Donaldson, Elizabeth Andrus, Katherine Pamplin, Girija Sankar, Jennifer Charles, Marnette Valcin and Gardine Jacques.

Miami Dade College — The Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce’s Healthcare & Bioscience Committee announced Miami Dade College Medical Center Campus School of Nursing professor Annette Gibson, RN, MSN, MEd, as the winner in the 13th annual Health Care Heroes Awards in the Nurse category. Gibson spearheaded partnerships to extend classroom learning into the field. She is a supporter of accessible healthcare for the homeless.

By | 2020-04-15T14:23:56-04:00 June 14th, 2010|Categories: Regional, South|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment