You are here:----Raritan Bay Nurses Recognize Colleagues With PRIDE and Preceptor Awards

Raritan Bay Nurses Recognize Colleagues With PRIDE and Preceptor Awards

Raritan Bay Medical Center celebrated Nurses Week at the Perth Amboy (N.J.) and Old Bridge divisions with awards and recognition ceremonies, food and refreshments provided by the medical staff, and gift prizes donated by community businesses.

“We have the opportunity to deliver stellar care with every single patient interaction,” says Joan Harewood, RN, DNP, NEA-BC, senior vice president of patient care services and CNO. “In addition, it is our responsibility to get involved in healthcare on a broader level. In the months and years ahead, we have much to do in healthcare, and the nursing profession can play a major role in getting the job done,” Harewood says.

PRIDE winner Karyn Berk, left, RN, Green 4, ICU, received the Role Model award from Debra Mahoney, RN, director of nursing, Perth Amboy Division.

Harewood spoke to administration and nursing staff at the annual Nurses Week celebration May 7 at the Perth Amboy division and on May 6 at the Old Bridge division.

She urged nurses to join nursing and healthcare organizations, stay connected with legislators and have their voices heard by policy makers.

Abigail Rivas, center, PCA, ICU, accepted the Preceptor Award from Tara Hunter, left, PCA, ICU, who nominated Rivas and Linda Lopazanski, RN, right, manager, ICU.

“During Nurses Week, at both campuses we present our PRIDE and Preceptor awards to nurses and staff who are nominated by their peers because they serve as role models for everyone,” says Kendra Dugan, RN, MSN, CCRN, chairperson of the Nurses Week Day and director of nursing quality, resources and research.

Preceptor Award recipient Diane Watson, RN, center, ATS/Methadone, is congratulated by Rosemary Oarsley, RN, left, director, behavioral health, and nominator Nancy Atlak, RN.

At the Perth Amboy campus, PRIDE awards were presented to Sheryl Castro, RN, ICU, Professional Practice Excellence: Karyn Berk, RN, Green 4, Role Model; Imelda Sicat-Leung, RNC, pediatrics, Innovative Thinker and Excellence in Clinical Care; Joanne Job, RN, OR suites, Dedicated Patient Advocate; and Marifi Agcebao, RN, ICU, Excellence in Clinical Care.

Preceptor awards were given to Marva Scafe, RN, SCU; Mary Kilgallen, RN, CFL; Nilda Araga, RN, CCU; Diane Watson, RN, Addiction Treatment Services/Methadone; Abigail Rivas, PCA, ICU; Charmaine Burton, PCA, SCU; and Patience Wilson, PCA, Green 4.

By | 2020-04-15T14:09:39-04:00 May 17th, 2010|Categories: New York/New Jersey Metro, Regional|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment