You are here:----Nurse of the Year Winners to be Awarded in Las Vegas

Nurse of the Year Winners to be Awarded in Las Vegas

Six exceptional nurses headed to Las Vegas this weekend — but what happened there certainly won’t stay there.

The following RNs will be honored as national Nursing Excellence Nurses of the Year:

Patricia Cavanaugh, RN, MSN, vice president of patient services and chief nursing officer of Capital Health System in Trenton, N.J. Cavanaugh was recognized in the category of Advancing & Leading the Profession.

Marsha E. Fonteyn, RN, PhD, OCN, The Phyllis F. Cantor Center, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston. Fonteyn was the winner in the Mentoring category.

Col. Joseph S. Blansfield, RN, MS, ANP-BC, a trauma program manager at Boston Medical center. He was deployed in Iraq for 18 months. Blansfield was recognized for his role in Clinical Care.

Sandra Walters, RN, a breast specialist who founded the Andre Center for Breast Cancer Education and Navigation in Denver, Colo. Walters was the winner for her work in Community Service.

Debra Maitre, RNC, MS, director of Women’s and Infant’s Services at Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas. Maitre was honored for Management.

Sonya R. Hardin, RN, PhD, CCRN, ACNS-BC, an associate professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte School of Nursing. Hardin was named the winner for Teaching.

These individuals were chosen earlier this year as winners in their region and then were judged against winners across the country. They will unite Sunday, Oct. 26, at the ceremony in Las Vegas.

Nursing Spectrum is proud to recognize these extraordinary nurses. Stay tuned to and your Nov. 3 issue of Nursing Spectrum/NurseWeek, which will highlight the Las Vegas celebration.

By | 2020-04-15T15:37:18-04:00 October 20th, 2008|Categories: New York/New Jersey Metro, Regional|0 Comments

About the Author:


Leave A Comment